Governing council

The Northern Institute of Social Justice is overseen by the NISJ Governing Council, which provides overall leadership and sets the vision, mission, guiding principles, priorities and strategic direction.  The Governing Council members are:

  • Yukon University President and Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
  • Deputy Minister of Education, Government of Yukon
  • Deputy Minister of Health and Social Services, Government of Yukon
  • Deputy Minister of Justice, Government of Yukon
  • Public Service Commissioner, Government of Yukon 

Two Council positions for Yukon First Nations leaders are currently vacant. 

Founding Council Members

The NISJ opened in 2010. The founding members of the NISJ Governing Council were:

  • Dr. Terry Weninger (then-President, Yukon College)
  • Patricia Daws (then-Public Service Commissioner)
  • Pamela Hine (then-Deputy Minister of Education)
  • Dr. Dennis Cooley (then-Deputy Minister of Justice)
  • Stuart Whitley (then-Deputy Minister of Health and Social Services)
  • Eric Morris (then-Chief of Teslin Tlingit Council)
  • Mark Wedge (then-Chief of Carcross/Tagish First Nation)