Government of Yukon appoints six to the Yukon College Board of Governors

WHITEHORSE—The Government of Yukon has appointed Judy Gingell, Tom Ullyett, Jocelyn Curteanu, Chris Milner, Eric Jun Hyeok Kim and Ernest Prokopchuk to the Yukon College Board of Governors 

Judy Gingell was nominated by the Council of Yukon First Nations (CYFN). She is a citizen of the Kwanlin Dün First Nation, member of the Order of Canada, former grand chief of the Council of Yukon Indians and former Commissioner of Yukon. Gingell has been a vital leader during Yukon First Nations land claims negotiations, from being a founding director of the Yukon Native Brotherhood and attending the historic 1973 meeting in Ottawa between Yukon chiefs and then-prime minister Pierre Trudeau, to signing the Umbrella Final Agreement in 1993. 

Jocelyn Curteanu is a member-at-large. Curteanu is Regional Administrative Coordinator with the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) and a Whitehorse municipal councillor, recently elected for her third term.  

Chris Milner is a member-at-large. He is Chief Executive Officer of KDFN’s Chu Niikwan Development Corporation and former general manager of the 2012 Arctic Winter Games and manager with the 2010 Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Games. Milner is also a volunteer with Sport Yukon.  

Tom Ullyett is a member at large. He worked for the Government of Yukon for over 30 years and is a former deputy minister for the Department of Justice and a former Public Service Commissioner. He is a past president of the Yukon Branch of the Canadian Bar Association and currently a board member with the Yukon Law Foundation. Ullyett was an instructor at the College from 1998 to 2010 teaching administrative law and was a member of the College’s Northern Institute of Social Justice Governing Council from 2013 to 2018. 

Eric Jun Hyeok Kim was nominated by the Yukon College Student Union (YCSU). He is currently in his third year of studies with the Bachelor of Education (YNTEP) program at Yukon College in partnership with the University of Regina. 

Ernest Prokopchuk was nominated by College staff and faculty. He is a chemistry instructor and chair of the School of Science and co-chair of Academic Council. 

These six join current members, College President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Karen Barnes (non-voting),  Yukon First Nations representative Carol Geddes, as well as Vera Holmes, Julia Salo and Shawn Allen, who represent Yukon communities beyond Whitehorse. 

The board has elected Chris Milner as chair and Vera Holmes and Carol Geddes as vice chairs. 

“This is a very exciting time for the College that will translate into interesting work for the Board. This Board of Governors will oversee the transition of Yukon College to Yukon University.  We appreciate their willingness to place their experience and perspectives in service of Yukon students,” said Dr. Barnes. 

“We are also very grateful to outgoing and recent board of governors members, Paul Flaherty, Mike Burke, Mary Samolczyk, Alyce Johnson, Matt Landry, Patti Balsillie, Kluane Adamek, John Phelps and John Burdek. Their guidance and wise council have served the College well during key moments of our transition journey,” added Dr. Barnes.  

The Yukon College Board of Governors is appointed by the Commissioner in Executive Council for terms not exceeding three years, although appointments can be renewed. The College Act provides for three First Nations members, three Community Campus members, three members-at-large, one staff representative, one student representative, and the College president (non-voting). Board members must reside in Yukon for at least one year prior to their appointment. 

For more information, please contact:

Michael Vernon

Communications Coordinator

Governance and External